Our new centerpiece clock, featured in BASECAMP, has a long history, having being made by a local clock and watchmaker John Juler from North Walsham. The clock was originally owned by Sir Berney Brograve at Worstead Hall and in 1787 was loaned to the town of North Walsham and was installed into the market cross. At this time the clock had only one hand, in 1856 the clock was presented to the town of North Walsham with a minute hand and a bell added.
In 1899 the clock was replaced by a new 8 day chiming clock to commemorate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee
The clock was purchased in 1911 by P G Bower of Barnards Ltd. A new clock tower was made for the stables Earlham Hall and the clock was restored to commemorate the coronation of King George V and Queen Mary on 22nd June 1911.
In 1939 the owners of Earham Hall moved to Clippesby Hall and brought the clock to the stable block but when the stables were converted into holiday accommodation access to the clock was no longer possible so the clock was replaced by an electric one.
Since then the clock had been stored in cellar at the Hall until it was rediscovered in lockdown last year when Colin Grant of Drayton was commissioned to restore it once again. It now takes pride of place at Clippesby Hall’s BASECAMP where guests and visitors can appreciate the amazing workings behind the clock face and hear the huge bell chime every hour.
BASECAMP at Clippesby Hall will reopen to visitors from 17th May